top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGoddess Black Diamond

The Catastrophic Shutdown of Backpage

For those unaware, Backpage has been shut down worldwide following seizure by the FBI. The owner's home had been raided by the Feds. Reading about this broke my heart, especially for the many marginalized women (trans, people of color) who used Backpage to make ends meet.


I was an avid user of Backpage for several years. It got me through the worst of times and prevented me from going homeless. Some of the best clients I've had were from Backpage. I was able to screen and work out of safe spaces. Sure, I had a few no-shows and plenty that were pushy, but for the most part, my clients were very respectful. Sadly, after I stopped advertising and took a hiatus, I no longer have those clients. I wish I knew then what I knew now. I would have found a way to keep in touch.


I am all for stopping human trafficking, but censoring the internet will not get rid of it. Censorship will only drive it further underground making it more difficult for law enforcement to arrest the perpetrators and rescue victims. Then again, the government, state or federal, never truly gave a shit about women and children anyway. SESTA and FOSTA are just there to get approval ratings up since this is an election year. I am done with both Republicans and Democrats. Neither will get my vote when the Congressional seats are up for grabs this November.


Following the seizure of Backpage, Craigslist removed the Therapeutic section from all of its USA based websites. I felt bad because many legitimate massage therapists used Craigslist to get their businesses kicked off and made good money from it. Spa chains like Massage Envy grossly overwork and underpay massage therapists. Not to mention the clients are snotty, bitchy, and don't tip well. I am surprised Massage Envy has not gone under with the amount of sexual harassment and assault allegations against it, but then again, it is a huge corporation and money talks.


That's the thing. Sexual harassment and assault goes on so much in the vanilla workplace, but there is no outrage against that. Children in the foster care system are treated poorly and die at the hands of abusers, but there is no state or federal investigation there. If state or federal governments truly gave a damn about children, they would improve the foster care system, have better schools, and make college affordable. I've watched more than my share of news stories of children beaten, brutalized, and tortured to death despite multiple alerts to Child Protective Services! WHERE IS THE OUTRAGE?


In my experience, I've faced far more disrespect of my personal boundaries than in the sex industry. I worked at a legitimate spa and was sexually assaulted TWICE. First by a client, the second by my own boss. Sure, I had clients in sex work that were pushy, but they did not try to kiss me or pry my legs open. Again, this is from my OWN PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. I cannot speak for others, but I am sure many sex workers have experienced more harassment in the vanilla workplace too.


The best way to combat sex trafficking is to fully decriminalize sex work, PERIOD. It will be so much easier for victims to come forward and for law enforcement to arrest and rescue. Currently, sex trafficking victims risk getting the book thrown at them instead of getting help if they contact law enforcement for any sort of help.


Civilians, do not think for one second that FOSTA/SESTA won't affect you. It has already begun. When you find out your favorite dating websites are censored or you cannot get naked on Skype for your significant other, maybe then, you will get it and start fighting alongside sex workers for your freedom of speech.

Recent Posts

See All

Where Has Diamond Been?

.It has been a while since I have made a post on social media. I have been on break for a while. I had been suffering depression for quite some time and social media made it worse. We all know what

The Damaging Effects of FOSTA/SESTA

The crackdown has already begun and FOSTA/SESTA is not even law yet. Here are the numerous things that happened beneath this horrible bill. >Craigslist shut down their Personals section. >Reddit took

Coming To A Head

I decided to create a blog, but I have no idea how long my site will last. Now that the US government has scrubbed away net neutrality and FOSTA/SESTA has passed through both the House and Senate, th

bottom of page